Sneaky Teaching

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention my new sneaky teaching method for gettubg Betty to use electronic devices.

I show her how to get to something she enjoys, like Wonder Pets on Jennifer’s phone or PBS Kids on the computer. Then, I never help her with it again. I encourage her and support her, give her verbal suggestions, but I don’t do it for her again.

The motivation to get to the thing she wants is enough. She can now unlock Jennifer’s iPhone, navigate to Wonder Pets, and start it all by herself. Same thing with waking the computer up and getting to PBS kids with the mouse. She can start, play, and succeed at most of the games there.

Of course, now tearing her away is tough. I’m still pretty sure it was worth it.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.