Mother’s Day Shopping

At the store today, I spilled an big vase of flowers. Rather, I spilled a whole bunch of water out of a vase of flowers. The flowers were fine.

There was water all over the floor, but also a “caution wet floor” sign. Makes me think I wasn’t the first. I picked white roses and pink daisies.

In the end, however, I ended up putting the flowers back, opting to get Jennifer a braided azalea tree instead. The little braids represent life interwoven and whatnot. It is also pretty, and will last longer than flowers. In the back of my mind, I was thinking that flowers might still be better, but in the end my sense of meaning over tradition gave out.

We’ll see how it goes.

Also, I told Betty this morning that I would get he a balloon. We ended up going home with a huge Mylar horse, which ended up getting buckled into a seat so it wouldn’t keep floating around the car. I also accidentally let the empty “race car” cart smash into a parked car when I tried to put it away. It had a left drift I didn’t notice. The car and the cart were fine.

When we got home, Betty and I made cards for her. I let Betty make an entire card all by herself, it’s kind of awesome.

Now I’m trying to keep Betty away from Jennifer so she can sleep a little bit more.

I know that’s what she’s always wanted, just a little more sleep.

Oh yeah, and don’t worry. I’ll be calling one mom and emailing the other one today. Also, remembering the third. Life is crazy like that.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.