A Most Fluid World

This is a quick post. More of a question for folks, really.

Aside from the physical discomfort associated with not getting enough sleep, such as headache or digestion issues, the main thing I notice is how the rest of the world seems off when I’m tired.

My jokes don’t hit as well, wadded up papers miss the trashcan, buses arrive late, etc. I know logically that this is due to the fact that my coordination, concentration, and mood may be off due to my non-rested state. Still, it’s almost like the world isn’t completely finished, like it needed my inattention to fully form.

Or, maybe each night we dream the world into existence, and if we stay up too late we throw together a rush job not worthy of our participation. The world is a fluid place that can be amazing when I’m rested or ramshackle when I’m dog tired.

The question is, am I the only one who experiences this?

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Most Fluid World

  1. none says:

    Well… the jokes you were telling were to a flowerpot, the trash can in question was someone’s head, and you were not at the bus terminal. So I don’t know if you can really blame the world in this case.

  2. paulgude says:

    I can never get the flowerpots to laugh at my jokes. They’re always laughing AT ME.

  3. Sandy Kopriva says:

    I find that inanimate objects don’t cooperate with me when I’m tired. Cellophane sticks annoyingly. Motorcycles want to tip over. Clothing is half inside-out when I’m trying to put it on. My backpack catches on my jacket so I can’t take it off or put it on.

  4. paulgude says:

    See, that’s exactly what I’m talking about. It’s like sleep is the lubricant that keeps our lives zipping along.

Comments are closed.