What Betty Wants You to Know

I’ve asked my three-year-old daughter to share some of her wisdom.

Me: Betty what do you want to tell the people?
Betty: (While playing the ukulele) About buses.
Me: What do you want to tell the people about buses?
Betty: My mom wants to work something.
Me: What about buses?
Betty: Uh huh. My mom want to work buses. What are you doing?
Me: I’m writing to the people and telling them what you’re saying.
Betty: Two buses!
Me: Two buses?
Betty: Uh huh. We need to go to the Elephant and to the pilot house.
Me: What’s the pilot house?
Betty: The pilot house where the girl lives! And the girl is a boy or a girl. The pilot is a boy or a girl. A boy, dad? He’s a boy or a girl? The pilot is a girl?
Me: A pilot can be a boy or a girl.
Betty: And the lady is a girl or a boy. He’s a girl? We got to turn it on. Like, wow!
Me: Betty?
Betty: What? What is it, daddy?
Me: What do you want the people to know?
Betty: The people not to cry the pilot. I need a pogical (editor’s note: common bastardization of “Popsicle” by Betty). I need a fruit pogical. I need a green pogical. I need-I am hungry. Can I draw the pilot? Can you draw the pilot? Pilot girl!
Me: Pilot girl?
Betty: Pilot girl, if you want.
Me: Okay, I’ll draw a pilot girl for you later.
Betty: You can draw the pilot girl! We’re into Josh’s house!
(Josh is out landlord.)
Me: Okay, Betty…um…any last thing you want to say to everybody?
Betty: Uh-huh! I need to have a last say about everybody to not quit! I can play ball with the people and bounce up and down. See? The ball jumped into my head.
Me: Okay, thanks Betty!
Betty: You’re welcome! You’re welcome to ask me if I’m to play ball, too.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Betty Wants You to Know

  1. Lex Vader says:

    You know, I never thought you could create anything as good as Super Rocket Monkey, but I was wrong. This is way better.

    I wants a pogical.

  2. sybil says:

    this is just awesome. totally, totally awesome.

Comments are closed.