Impatience

I invariably enjoy movies more when I haven’t seen any trailers for them, when I don’t know what to expect from what I’m about to see.

However, even when knowing this full well, I am obsessed with finding out everything I can about a new project when it’s on the horizon.

So, for example, I check Winter Is Coming pretty much every day to find out if anyone new has been cast in A Game of Thrones. Recently, this paid off better than could be expected when Peter Dinklage was cast as Tyrion. This was dream-casting for me and countless others, but did nothing to satiate me. I still check the site obsessively and continue to read the books.

I was just as bad for The Prisoner a while back, and I’m positive there will be many more instances in the future.

Jennifer is incredibly good at ignoring all of these things. She leaves the room when a trailer comes on and avoids any attempts to discuss a film she plans to see. I, on the other hand, seek out any bit of trivia I can get my hands on and speculate constantly.

Granted, I am able to avoid any fan-based discussions of who one’s dream cast member is usually by the virtue that all of those listed are either out of budget or older than they expect. People wishing to cast Brian Blessed as King Robert don’t want Brian Blessed, they want 1983’s Brian Blessed, who is unavailable. Still, I sniff after every scrap of “official” truth, even if it’s just a spoofed entry in the IMDB.

Jennifer is always bemused by this tendency of mine, because she has seen time and time again how it can breed disappointment. The truth is, I simply can’t help myself. This means that I can spoil my appetite by learning all there is to know before I see the film, simply because I can’t wait until it’s ready to be released. However, I don’t learn all of these things to make wise choices. I had it on very good authority that Highlander 2 would ruin Highlander, and I still went to see it as soon as it opened. People whose opinions I respected said that Watchmen would be a disappointment. I enjoyed the performances of Rorschach and the Comedian, but there were things I just couldn’t get past. These were things I knew about beforehand, and it didn’t help.

My friend Andy Burnside suggests that it’s because movies are our version of sports, and so we love the trivia that goes along with it. I wish that were the only truth, because it is true.

Still, I still feel like it has a lot to do with me not wanting to wait.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.