Easy Reader

Today, when Betty was in the tub, she asked for her toys.

We keep them in a big red bucket. I dumped them all in, unceremoniously. There’s a glow-in-the dark jellyfish, a big black devil duckie from Archee McPhee, and tons of foam letters.

After a little while, Betty starts going:

“Zoo! Zoo! Zoo, dad! Zoo!”

I looked over the side of the tub, and saw that she had indeed spelled the word:

A few minutes before, these letters had been floating in the water.

A few minutes before, these letters had been floating in the water.

I started telling her to spell other words, like this:

“Let’s spell ‘cat,’ Betty. Put the C there, the A there, and the T! Yes!!!”

We did this with “Boy,” “Dog,” and “Cat.” Then I showed her how you can change “Cat” to “Hat” and then “Hat” to “Hot.”

“Now, Betty,” I said. “I’m going to spell a word.”

I laid out P-A-R-K.

“Now, Betty,” I said. “What’s this word?”

Betty stared at it.

“Sound it out,” I said. “What’s sound does this make?”

I pointed to the P.

“Puh,” Betty answered.

“And this?”

“Ah.”

“This?”

“Ruh.”

“And this?”

“Kuh.”

“Good job! Now say them all together.”

“Puh-ah-ruh-kuh. Pahrukuh…PARK! PARK! PARK!!! IT SAYS PARK!!!!”

She was splashing excitedly, and laughing. I was laughing and giving her a high-five.

Then she stopped, got very solemn, and said. “It’s like Word World.”

“Yes!” I said, nodding. “It’s exactly like that.”

Then I gave her some candy.

Later, she spelled “cat” on the refrigerator with magnets.

I think she finally gets it!

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Reader

  1. Lex Vader says:

    But now she needs to learn that B6 is an essential vitamin!

Comments are closed.