Not Always Family Friendly

I’ve done a children’s book in the past.

It was mentioned to me that if people found out what I was like in my personal life, or read my more adult-oriented material, that my children’s sales might suffer. I didn’t really think that much of it though. Shel Silverstein has always been a hero of mine, and while perhaps there are some people who may have accidentally purchased Freakin’ at the Freakers Ball for their kids, I don’t think there was a lot of crossover. He made naughty songs now and again, but his books for children were wholesome and no one *should* care. His overtly wicked sense of humor and playful spirit may have informed each other, but they remained separate.

Of course, there is the odd case of Uncle Shelby’s ABZ Book but it is a work of pure genius that would not be as effective if it didn’t cross that line.

I am aware of the issue when my actual work gets a little racy. I put out a normal version and a kid’s version of the Giraffes and Elephants Are Friends book.

I bring this up because someone balked at putting a link to my blog today because of the content. Granted, I don’t have the cleanest mouth in the world, but I wasn’t sure what the issue was.

Then I looked at the post on the front page and noticed that I had written the following:

In the end, I think it was the promise of a relatively innocent and somewhat curious story that got me to look at the file. It didn’t sound anything like the spam I’m used to seeing. If it were “Cum-Hungry Teenage Sluts Who Live at a McDonald’s Finallly Captured On Your Desktop All Nite Long!” I would have known it for what it was instantly.

I could see how someone could take the phrase “Cum-Hungry Teenage Sluts” the wrong way out of context, but I was just putting it forth as an example for a theoretical spam subject line.

You know, for kids.

In the end, I totally understood their impulse. Reputation means a lot in various circles and I am by no means squeaky clean when it comes to content. When you live in a big city and only hang out with fringe theatre artists, you forget that out in the rest of the country there are people that will actually disassociate themselves with you if you use bad words. We talked through it and there’s no problem. I have friends and family who have turned a blind eye to my more baser impulses, and we seem to get along fine that way.

For my own self, I think Reggie Watts says it best:

Also, I’m serious about taking me off your hard drive. People are asking me for your contact information.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not Always Family Friendly

  1. Lex Vader says:

    Giraffes & Elephants will balk at bad words.

Comments are closed.