The Clown and the Girl Go to the Zoo

There’s a new game that I play with Betty. If you have a three-year-old, I recommend it.

The basic thing is this. Betty came up with the idea for a story, like this:

“Daddy, let’s tell the story of the clown and the girl!”
“Okay, what did they do?”
“They went…to the zoo!”
“And what did they do there?”
“They saw…BABY ANIMALS!” (shrieking)

Then I decided to get all educational on her.

“Okay, they saw a GRAY baby animal with a long trunk. What was it?”

She thought for a minute and then squealed, “The ELEPHANT!!! THE ELEPHANT!!!”

She was just as excited for the cow, the parrot, the peacock, and the jaguar.

We played it today as well. Finally, we reached the exciting point when she decided she was going to make me guess.

“They saw a baby animal, daddy!”
“What did it look like?”
“Gray!”
“Was it a whale?”
“NO!”
“Was it a dolphin?”
“Not a DOLPHIN!”
“Can you give me a hint? What else did it look like?”
“It looked like…an elephant!”
She smiles and holds out her hands. I shrug.
“Was it…an elephant?”
“Yes!!! Good JOB daddy!”

I’m pretty impressed with the whole situation.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.