Playing a Role

Betty loves Over the Hedge. She calls it “Silly Squirrels.”

This morning when she was waking me up, she said, “Hey, Bear! I’m the Raccoon! I wake you up by stealing your food!”

Eventually I groaned, rolled over, and said, “You’re stealing my food, R.J.?”

“Oh, yes! I am doing that!”

“I’m going to have to kill you R.J.”

“Don’t eat me!” she squealed, laughing.

I pretended to chew on her head and she collapsed giggling.

Then she said, “I want to watch me on the TV!”

We have a few DVDs of her that she enjoys watching.

“Which one do you to watch? The Betty Show? Your 2nd Birthday Party?”

She leans in very close to me and says in a near-whisper, “Daddy I’m not Betty, I’m the *raccoon* now. We’re going to watch “Silly Squirrels.”

She’s pretended to be other things before, but this seems much more advanced. Every time R.J. does anything, she goes, “Look! Look what I’m doing! I’m getting the chips!” or, “Look! I’m talking to the turtle! That’s me!!!”

I’m very impressed.

In other news, she just walked into a wall. Like father, like daughter.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Playing a Role

  1. Lex Vader says:

    Super Rockey Monkey Helmet… available when??

Comments are closed.