Starting a New Book

I’m fickle when it comes to writing, and I have a new concept I’m obsessed with at the moment. I don’t want to tell you what it is yet, which means that I think it’s better than normal.

Usually I love talking about my ideas.

I don’t know how it works for other writers, but for me it’s sometimes a race to get everything in my head onto the paper before I get burnt out and want to work on something else. In this way, as I’m sure other writers will be quick to point out, novels aren’t always the best medium. It’s been said that I’d rather tell someone an entire book than write it. It’s not actually true, it’s just that if I tell someone everything about a new project, the need to express it to someone is fulfilled and then I can get bored.

As an example, I’ve got a pitch out to a publisher right now that’s already seems stale to me even though they’ve had it for less than three months. The “Love in a Time of Zombies” prequel and far-future sequel have all taken a backseat to this new project as well.

The problem is, how do I get my new obsession out of my head and onto paper when I only have an hour at the most to write during the day. In this case, I’m keeping a notebook with a map of the novel with me, filling things in as I go along.

This way, I don’t need to worry about battery life, or memory, just me and a pen and a notebook of non-lined paper so I can write or sketch as needed. The other awesome thing about this is that it happens to be a notebook that Betty has scribbled the bejesus out of over the past year. Recycling!

That’s not to say that I won’t put *this* one on hold if a publisher-driven project comes my way. The potential for a title reaching a very wide audience may just be enough to rekindle my interest.

Until then, though, this new project is a blast.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.