Dreams and a Question

Ben Laurance and I make up the performance duo Gude/Laurance and we’re going to be part of Sketchfest this year.

So of course, last night I had a dream that Sketchfest was an outdoor concert. We hadn’t prepared anything, and while everyone enjoyed my shtick of saying Princess Bride quotes while doing a Harry Lloyd impression (which I cannot do in real life), they didn’t like it after the first twenty minutes. Everyone wandered away and I was left with Ben staring at me.

“Do we still get paid?” I asked.

He just glared at me.

When Betty woke me up she said:

“I’m R2D2! I have a cousin!”

This gave me pause, because I had just had a dream before waking where I was floating over suburban streets, and everyone had an R2 Unit in their driveway. I touched down in front of a house with a big wooden box in the front yard. On the box was the word, “Cousin,” or, at the very least, I *knew* the word cousin was in the box. Inside was an steam-punk looking R2-unit that sped down the street, shedding parts as it went.

So the question then:

Did I actually dream that, or did my brain create the dream retroactively after her statement?

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreams and a Question

Comments are closed.