The Grown-Up Suit

The Grown-Up Suit
By Paul Gude
November 16, 2009

I know that I’m little
You say that I’m cute
So, please will you make me
My own grown-up suit?
My suit would have stilts
One for each shoe
So I could be tall
Taller than you!
Why would I want
To be up so high?
So we can, like you say
See things eye-to-eye
Please give me a megaphone
In front of my face
So my voice can be heard
All over the place
Some times when I talk
You don’t seem to hear
My grown-up suit will make sure
I come through loud and clear
I want lots of masks
In a big leather book
So I’m one page-turn away
From a real grown-up look
“Keep it down!”
“I’m not mad!”
“Now look what you’ve done!”
Plus one silly one
(Even grown-ups have fun!)
Add that big grown up list
Of what’s right and what’s wrong
As a scarf on my neck
(As I’m sure that it’s long)
Plus some big smarty-pants
That I’ll cinch up like so
Full of things that you say
I’m too young to know
Finally, a huge coat
To cover it all
To make me look big
When I’m feeling so small
With my new grown up suit
I’ll be as big as you
Then you’ll listen to me
And care what I do
Of course…
I won’t get to be snuggled
I’d be too tall for that
And my megaphone voice
Might scare my pet cat
And the masks on my face
Would just serve to hide
The real faces I make
When I feel bad inside
And there may be some things
That I’d rather not know
Until I want to
(Not ’til YOU say so)
And that bulky old coat
Would make it too hot to play
But I still wish you’d listen
To the things that I say
I don’t need to be loud
I don’t need to be tall
I don’t really need
That big suit at all
Please just sit in a chair
Or get down on one knee
We can see eye-to-eye
If you come down to me

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Grown-Up Suit

  1. Brabble says:

    Wow, Paul. That is just… beautiful.

    Beautiful, sir.

    Thank you for sharing it.

    Mike

  2. flamingbanjo says:

    I smell a children’s book.

Comments are closed.