Remember the iPhone

This will be the last thing I write about the iPad for a while, hopefully.

Thanks to everyone for reading. I know I’ve sounded pretty negative with regard to the device not being what I wanted, but I hope my thread of “I still think it’s going to do well” was apparent throughout.

I’ve spent the last few days writing about something I haven’t seen, complaining about the fact that it wasn’t what I was hoping it would be. It’s a little silly. I realize that.

I realized it’s the story of how I got an iPhone. I think it’s relevant.

My cellphone, an LG with a camcorder, broke.

My wife really wanted an iPhone, and I was trying to think of something to get her for Christmas that she wasn’t expecting.

So, I bought an LG Vu, and bought her an iPhone. I bought it for her under her *old* cell phone number, which was still on our plan from when I got her a Blackjack and had to add an additional line to get it for less money. (I had made some really dumb purchasing decisions in the past.) We had kept it with the plan of eventually getting Betty a Firefly, but that never happened.

By putting the iPhone under my wife’s old number, I was free to mess around with it, because her Blackjack would still work for her. So I decided I’d put some of her favorite songs on it, buy her some games, etc. The experience was good enough that I returned the Vu and bought an iPhone for myself, lack of camcorder notwithstanding.

In all my slamming of this product, I forgot that all it took was me using the iPhone to realize that for all of my perceived shortcomings of the device, it was still better than something that did everything I wanted on paper.

I wasn’t an early adopter of the iPhone, but when it finally came time for me to get a new phone, I loved it. I started using mine right away, and let my wife think I had bought myself one without thinking of her.

(Before you judge me too harshly for that, please note that I’d NEVER, not once been able to keep what I’m buying my wife a secret. I’d never been able to before or since. For one brief, shining moment, however, she sat there stewing as I used my new iPhone because a scenario where I bought one for myself but not one for her was entirely believable.)

Maybe that’s why I’m protesting the iPad so much, because deep down I know that as soon as I get one, I’ll want it whether or not it has all the features I “need” or not.

Case in point: I’ve been able to hold out on buying a desktop/laptop for this long because my iPhone has picked up the slack with web and email. Not only that, but I’ve found a way to use it as a stand-alone for the creation of art. I use SketchBook to do comics that I upload using Flickr. No Mac/PC required. The idea of using the iPad for everything and simply ignoring the things it can’t do is one I can wrap my head around.

So, those are the pros. You can go back and read the cons, too. I don’t think there’s anything I’ve written that I don’t think holds true. I’d still love it to be able to do all the things I wanted. I still think they missed some opportunities.

I’m just acknowledging that if, in a side-by-side test, it does less things in a better way, I may still want it in the end. It happened with the Vu vs. the iPhone, it could happen with the challengers to the iPad that come out.

That’s all I’ve got until I actually see one.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remember the iPhone

  1. Mike in Pendleton says:

    Really nice post.
    I am still using a Handspring Visor Pro. I love it.

    Because:
    Grey Scale screen gives unbelievable battery life. Unbelievable!

    Graffiti handwriting recognition is fastest for me.

    But. Pocketmoney by Catamount (checkbook & bookkeeping software is showing its age. The updated version is only for the iphone.

    Must I migrate?

    • paulgude says:

      I’m answering this honestly.

      The only reason you ever need to upgrade technology is because:

      1) It stops doing what you want it to do.
      2) It won’t allow you to collaborate with the right people.

      The bright/shiny factor of something new can feed into someone’s reason #1, but if your tolerance is higher you can use a piece of “outmoded” equipment for a long long time.

Comments are closed.