Dream Experiment: Story-Driven Ambient/Verbal Immersion

Last night began with false start of story-driven verbal, single voice. I’ve been using audio I already own for most of these, but I don’t have any books on tape at the moment. So, I decided to pick a book with a very long preview online, in this case a book of erotic short stories. The vividness of the photo shoot dream was such that I thought this element of the forbidden was a useful component. (And, of course, I’m a bit of a perv.) Unfortunately the preview was actually only a few minutes followed by a lot of silence. I thought this was the standard “sound dropout” I experienced a few nights ago, but when I was fully awake I saw the counter still going. Curses!

So, I instead I opted for listening to podcasts of old-time radio shows, and noticed something new. I would get into the point of audio drop-out like I did when listening to Ken Plume and Caissie St. Onge, I even got some of the audio confusion I experienced before. However, I slowly became aware that I was having a sort of counter-story developing, that would incorporate some of the elements of the story. An example: a character was eating a chocolate bar in an airplane, and I would have a bit of a counter-story develop with a young child eating a chocolate bar and playing with an airplane. These weren’t vivid. They were someone vague, impressions more than pictures.

Then I ran into a small issue.

These podcasts are only about a half hour long. When I “came out of it” while listening to Ken Plume and Caissie St. Onge, they were still talking, so I was able to measure on the counter how long I had been under. When I was fully awake this time, the counter had stopped. I did this experiment twice, and it was the same both times.

So, I think I need to try this again some time with longer source material. It seems that two hours is a good “safety” length.

One thing of note is that I also didn’t remember my dreams after I stopped the experiment nearly as well as I did the other two nights. All of the ones I remember pretty much happened after I woke up once in the morning and then went back to sleep:

1) I remember watching a telethon and not being able to tell if the person on stage was Tom Jones in a performance outfit or Judd Hersh dressed as Han Solo.

2) I had a dream about a bunch of desks. I can’t really describe this well, but I’m going to give it a shot. I have a vivid image of an oak desk. I wake up. I have a vivid image of a metal desk. I wake up. I have a vivid image of a marble desk. I wake up. Repeat.

Those are all I’ve got. I remember vague wisps of others, like being in a warehouse with some people, but nothing concrete. Sometimes things come to me during the day. If this happens, I’ll update.

I went to bed a little later than the other two nights as well. I can’t ignore this as a possible factor, so I won’t. It’s a possible factor.

So far, reading text and then binaural signals seemed to work the best. I’ll be trying that again tonight.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.