Binaural Signal Test 3: Hypnagogia

Last night I still felt a bit sick, and I’m feeling pretty bad this morning. I have a sore throat and a stuffy nose. I didn’t take any medicine.

I went to bed at 12:17 and hadn’t planned on listening to anything, but as I had trouble getting comfortable, I decided to listen to Binaural Beats again.

As I fell asleep this time, I experienced some Hypnagogia. First of all, there was an old man, sitting in a kitchen in front of me, smiling. It was somewhat like a photograph. His features shifted between Caucasian and Asian, and his face became more and more wrinkled. I viewed him as kindly, but could feel my mind working to turn him sinister. If you’ve never experienced this, the best way I can describe it is thinking, “Oh, he’s too nice,” and immediately a warning bell goes off in your head saying, “Uh-oh, here we go!”

I started thinking about an old woman instead, perhaps his wife. She looked pleasant enough, for a bit, but soon her face started to fold in on itself in a horrifying manner. I switched back to the old man, and his mouth turned itself inside-out so that it became round like an eels, his teeth separating and becoming a ring.

I forced myself to come out of it, and settled back in. I started thinking about women I know, something that I always find comforting, and easy to keep from being sinister. I then went to sleep.

I remember dreaming that a family from my juggling class lived down the street, and the kids put a message under a rock for Betty. We were right there, watching them, and it was hard to keep Betty from simply taking the note before the rock was placed.

I also had a dream that a large blonde woman, who I don’t know in real life but knew in my dream, made a drink called “hot chocolate butter,” with chocolate whipped cream on top. Mine cooled off and became a solid mass, like a mug of fudge, or a giant truffle. It still tasted good.

At some point in the night I took my headphones off. I remember doing it, because I wanted to turn on my side by it was a bit uncomfortable to do. I don’t know if it happened before or after the two dreams I related above.

At 5:11am, I got up and used the bathroom and still felt kind of stuffy. I decided to listen to the Binaural Beats again. Again, I experienced Hypnagogia. This time, there was a man whose entire body was like an egg, with a tiny face, but a little longer than an egg, like a stretched-out clay Humpty-Dumpty.

I experienced audio drop-out then, and eventually decided to take the headphones off when I again wanted to turn onto my side. I checked the clock on my phone, and couldn’t believe it was only 5:15.

Then, a really odd thing happened. I found myself imagining the Binaural Beats sound, and noticed myself slipping into Hypnagogia again. I found myself imagining a room, with circular “earth plugs” of sod at the lower base of the wall. By grasping the grass of these plugs and pulling, I would expose the roots of trees. The implication was that there were trees growing all around the building.

I don’t remember the transition, but then I dreamt that I was in a different house, living with Jennifer and Betty. My step-brother Dan was visiting, and had just poured two whole glasses of grape juice on the Love Sac in our living room. I completely lost my temper with him.

“You’re acting like a three year old!” I said.

(It should be noted that in real life Dan is a 41 year old robotics engineer.)

The scene shifted somehow to a young girl, college-aged, walking into our house without knocking.

“Did you see what just happened?” I asked my wife.

“I did,” she said.

The girl announced that she was going to be living in our spare room. I woke up.

It wasn’t until after I woke up that I realized this could have been Betty.

It should be noted that what I call “Hypnagogia” may not be the actual phenomenon. It’s less “real” than a dream, a bit like watching TV. The things I experience are half-way between thoughts and dreams, perhaps, and I seem to have much more conscious control over them.

That’s all for now. More information as I get it.

UPDATE: 9:10 – I had a dream that my hair was long enough that I thought maybe I should shave my beard. I was conflicted, though, because I thought maybe I could get a role that needed me to have a beard, so I decided against it. It should be noted that my hair was wavy like Betty’s instead of frizzy, as it actually gets.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.