A Quick Note on Project Blue Book

I haven’t remembered my dreams for the pas few nights, so I haven’t been making any updates.

I think this has everything to do with the fact that I haven’t been sleeping very much. Usually less than six hours the past few nights. I don’t like it. It’s just been circumstances.

Anyway, in the meantime, I wanted to make a note about something that I noticed a while back, and then forgot about until now.

As most of you are probably aware, the USAF had a project known as “Blue Book” that documented UFO sightings. If you don’t know about it, here’s a link to the Project Blue Book Wikipedia Page.

Again, I call this a quick note, because I have no analysis, just an observation. This is a quote from page 406 of The Secret Life of Houdini: The Making of America’s First Superhero:

His adversaries, the fraudulent mediums, had organized themselves into a tight-knit network that routinely shared information. They did this through what was called the Blue Book, a book that contained the names, occupations, addresses, family trees, and other minutiae about potential local marks, information that could disarm them and lead them to believe that the psychic they were consulting had real power.

Up until this point, I had always wondered about where the name “Blue Book” came from, and I honestly don’t think this is a coincidence.

Perhaps the name is simply derisive, implying that those who reported the UFOs are dupes, much like those who appeared in the original Blue Book.

Maybe it’s more than that, though, that the names were being collected for a list of “true believers” who could be exploited in the future. It certainly sounds more exciting.

Of course, it’s usually the less exciting option that holds true.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Quick Note on Project Blue Book

  1. paulgude says:

    There is now a searchable Project Blue Book archive:

    http://projectbluebook.theblackvault.com/

Comments are closed.