The Briefest Bluff

If anything doesn’t make sense in this post, I might be using one of my dream terms.

I’ve been doing my best to maintain that balance of “I am not sure if I am awake or dreaming but I am going to both pay attention to the world and play along as though everything is real” state that I call “hover” for the past week.

It takes a bit of effort, but I think it finally paid off last night.

I distinctly remember getting burned on some scenes but the two I remembered are pretty great. One, because it’s a great example of cover, one because I had a pretty interesting bluff.

In one, I was auditioning for a show with my friend. Betty was off playing with some things, and the people in charge of the audition seemed to be fine with her running around. My friend was talking to the people running the audition about how she felt insulted at a previous audition because she was a practicing witch and they made her tap dance. (My friend is not, to my knowledge, a practicing witch.)

“So,” she said, “I just started drawing swastikas in the air, because I was so mad at them.”

The person running the audition remarked that my friend’s story was a little inappropriate, and I was appalled.

“What are you DOING?” I hissed.

“Before you start getting snippy with me,” she retorted, “Why don’t you put on some pants?”

I looked down, and I was naked on stage. Classic tell if ever I heard one. Still, *zero* break in cover. I just felt dumb for forgetting to put pants on and went to go look for them. I did a side fade after that.

The second scene was very brief, but kind of great. I had assumed an old woman, and was lying down on my bed in a similar room to one I had when I was a child. I was speaking out loud, but to no one in particular.

“Now I’m going to fall asleep,” I announced, “And have a dream inside this one.”

I felt myself fall asleep, and dreamt of my wife and daughter talking in the living room.

Then I faded out of the dream and found myself in bed listening to them, the previous “dream within a dream” being bleed from their conversation.

The “dream within a dream” was obviously from a seed I got while reading the IMDB message board about Inception, where someone said a dream within a dream was impossible. If it weren’t for the fact that I had become an old woman, I’d have said this was an example of keen. Instead, it was bluff.

Either way, it was pretty nice to get first-hand confirmation that a dream-within-a-dream via sink is possible.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Briefest Bluff

  1. Elias Hiebert says:

    I’ve never experienced a dream-within-a-dream, but a friend described the phenomenon to me when I was a kid.

Comments are closed.