I Have Missed You. Let’s Meet Again!

Hey, everyone.

I had a meeting with my editor today. It was a phone meeting. It was a good meeting.

However, there’s something that he mentioned that gave me pause.

He mused that it was too bad I didn’t have a bigger online presence, and suggested I start a blog.

I was taken aback! I had a blog, I protested. I had a blog and my not-safe-for-kids Twitter account has almost 2500 followers. No online presence? Shock! Horror!

Then I looked at my blog and realized it hasn’t been updated since last June. I had been neglecting you. So much so, in fact, that I doubt you come here looking for new posts. It’s time to change this.

First, however, I want to let you know a bit more about me. While we may be old friends, in online terms my long absence has been decades. I’d like you to remind you about who I was, and perhaps…who I will be.

I am, at this moment, working as a Technical Writer for an undisclosed company. I was unemployed for quite a long time, and rather bitter about it. Since that time I not only got a job but am working on a book that is set to be published in the summer of 2013. It’s about a giraffe and an elephant. You may be familiar with them.

I like books. I am currently reading, “That Is All” by John Hodgman after finishing “Zone One,” by Colson Whitehead. I met Colson Whitehead recently and found him to be very charming. I know John Hodgman as @hodgman and I believe my most recent interaction with him was suggesting he play The Tickler in Game of Thrones, an idea he supported. Sadly, neither of us are involved in casting.

Speaking of Game of Thrones, I was involved in a nearly-psychotic obsession with it before the first season. I’m getting better, but still enjoy it more than one might expect from a man hoping to trade in whimsy.

Speaking of whimsy…what do I like? I enjoy Moomintroll, the work of Mo Willems, light-hearted silly shows like Adventure Time with Finn and Jake, dark-hearted silly shows like Dark Shadows, and two-hearted silly shows like Doctor Who.

I liked when Alan Moore, Neil Gaiman, Grant Morrison, and Peter Milligan started messing around with my favorite characters.

I enjoy puzzles, conspiracies, mind-bending thought experiments, and video games that allow you to drive cars off bridges or push things off ledges.

I respect the power of the fictional, and its ability to seep into our reality.

I could tell you more.

Just ask me.

Hello.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.