Straight Up

I have a book that’s on track to be published on Summer of 2013. My first non-self-published book, with a large publisher. It’s a big deal for me, and some day it may be a big deal for you.

Still, that’s a year and a half of waiting. I’m currently using it to offset the, “they grow up so fast!” effect of my five-year-old…no, almost SIX! Wow, they…hrm. Anyway, my daughter will be almost seven when it comes out.

Once it comes out, I hope to do a tour, make more books, and become the full-time writer/illustrator I was apparently wired to be. Again, though, a year and a half is a long time.

So, while the book does need my attention now and then, I have a day job. I wake up around 5:30am on weekdays. Three hours of my waking day is spent commuting to and from work on transportation not conducive to illustration. I spend about eight hours working, and when I get home I have about three hours with my daughter before her bedtime. After chores I get maybe an hour to work on a drawing before it’s time for me to go to bed.

The weekends are no better with regard to time. I wake up and am with my daughter all day, and then go to bed around the same time she does. I end up with about an hour of work time.

I work fast, so this often is enough time to fulfill a request from my editor. Some nights, however, my “work” consists of opening an art program, staring at it, and deciding that sleep is better than trying to work.

What I’m basically saying is that I haven’t played Skyrim yet.

Is it any good?

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Straight Up

  1. So excited about your book! And yeah, you’re better off not playing Skyrim, since I haven’t played it, either. 🙂

    Solidarity!

Comments are closed.