Morality of an Enjoyable Nature

I’m going to keep this brief. I love Dishonored because it made me want to start over when one of the characters disapproved of my tactics. Making me feel this way is an amazing accomplishment for a video game as far as I’m concerned.

At first I didn’t understand why he was offended by what I did, and was mad at him for it. Finally, I got it and was ashamed. This happens often in my real life. The difference is that with a video game, you can start over and fix things.

A save point is the best form of time travel.

UPDATE 10/30/2012

As I had hoped, adopting a more humane method of playing meant that when I met this character again, he praised and admired me. It felt wonderful.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.