Redshirts

In 2007, I wrote a Star Trek parody of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead entitled simply, “Redshirts.” There was a public reading of it and then I dropped the whole thing. I’ve had a link to it on my blog under a creative commons license and occasionally try to get people to read it.

When John Scalzi published Redshirts, I didn’t really think much of it.

Now, however, it’s going to be a show on FX, so I’ve decided to take the “Redshirts” link off my blog and rename it my second choice for a title, “It’s Worse Than That, They’re Dead.”

I’d delete it entirely, but I had fun writing it and hope the title change will avoid any confusion.

Not that it needs to be pointed out, but I fully believe that John Scalzi was unaware of my play. The concept of Redshirts as the Rosencrantz and Guildenstern of the Star Trek universe is obviously brilliant, but not so odd that multiple people couldn’t hit upon it.

As I’ve stated before, this concept was actually introduced to me by Stephen McCandless. I simply ran with it.

You can find a link to the play on my blog.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.