Exodus

My wife recently fell down the front steps of our rental house in Seattle. and had some minor injuries. She has a degenerative muscular condition that has been getting worse lately.

After this incident, it became apparent that:

1) She could not safely walk down the stairs unassisted.

2) We could use extra help taking care of Betty while navigating these issues.

At the same time as this was happening, things weren’t going well in my apprenticeship. A company to which I had been dispatched hadn’t been paying the union its fees, the end result being that my health insurance was canceled right before an important test for Jennifer.

The work was inconsistent. The pay did not cover our bills. Something had to happen.

So, I started looking for work near my parents’ house in Illinois.

The plan was to find a job and transition over the next couple of months.

Instead, I was offered more than I’d made in Seattle since the .com crash. There was one catch:

I had to start immediately. I had three days to get to Illinois.

I took the job.

I realize this decision may seem to make little sense to my friends back in Seattle. This area is not as bad as I thought when I was a young man. It is very affordable. There are some good people here. There are many interesting places. We will not just endure this move. We will enjoy our life and thrive.

Things will be hard the next couple of weeks. Jennifer was isolated in Seattle by the steps, now she’s isolated by a lack of a car when I go to work. My parents’ Internet is limited. We need to move to our own place, but to do that we need to get the old place cleaned out. Ben Laurance is doing an amazing job, considering we left everything right where it was. Thank you, Ben, and sorry.

I will miss everyone. Living here, however, I may be able to afford a visit.

About paulgude

Paul Gude writes small books, makes stupid music, draws silly pictures, and does weird things on stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exodus

  1. carmelacuba says:

    I love all three of you. GO TEAM G-P!

Comments are closed.